Departmental Awards

Each year, the Anthropology Department recognizes our exceptional students by granting several departmental awards. 

Anthropology Outstanding Senior Award

For an Anthropology senior who has shown significant achievement in their undergraduate career, both academically as well as through extraordinary engagement and/or service relevant to their study in Anthropology.

Anthropology Outstanding Junior Award

For an Anthropology junior who shows great promise at this stage in their undergraduate career, both academically as well as through extraordinary engagement and/or service relevant to their study in Anthropology. 

Marjorie Shostak Prize for Excellence and Humanity in Ethnographic Writing

In 1999 The Department of Anthropology announced the establishment of the "Marjorie Shostak Prize" to be awarded each year to an Emory student whose paper reflects original research on some aspect of human life experience.  The prize commemorates the life and work of Marjorie Shostak, author of Nisa: The Life and Words of a !Kung Woman (Cambridge Mass., Harvard University Press, 1981, republished 2000) and the sequel Return to Nisa (Harvard, 2000).  These works were highly praised for the immediacy of the writing, the personal character of the ethnographic encounters, and the complete absence of jargon, without any sacrifice of anthropological accuracy or validity. The presence of the ethnographer as an individual in these writings gave the reader an opportunity to take her perspectives and biases into account in evaluating the descriptions and interviews.
The award is bestowed on papers/theses that take a direct, personal approach to ethnography, without sacrificing validity or analysis, in keeping with the spirit of Shostak’s work. In the best submissions, human beings will come alive on the page, giving the reader a strong experience of the culture those people belong to. The writer will also attempt to analyze or interpret the experience, but with a minimum of jargon. The prize entails a financial award, and will be awarded to two students: the writer of the winning undergraduate paper and the writer of the winning graduate paper.

The George Armelagos Award for Excellence in Teaching by a Graduate Student

This annual award is to recognize graduate students in Anthropology who have demonstrated excellence in undergraduate teaching during their time at Emory. One goal of our graduate program is to develop the teaching skills of all doctoral students.  This award is given based on a student’s record in teaching and contributions to the undergraduate program over the entire span of their career at Emory.  The award is funded through an endowment set up by the late Professor George Armelagos – a distinguished scholar, teacher, and mentor.  It was his desire that the department recognize graduate students who are exceptional teachers, and that this recognition might help them on the job market.

Award Recipients


Outstanding Senior Award: Isabel Slingerland

Outstanding Junior Award: Evan Amaral and Rebecca Rusnak

Marjorie Shostak Prize, Undergraduate: Claire Biffl and Emma Hanlon

Marjorie Shostak Prize, Graduate: Shreyas Sreenath

George Armelgos Award: Sara Kauko and Shreyas Sreenath


Outstanding Senior Award: Sierra Stubbs

Outstanding Junior Award: Hannah Katz

Marjorie Shostak Prize, Undergraduate: Grace Jarrett

Marjorie Shostak Prize, Graduate: Adeem Suhail

George Armelgos Award: Andrea Rissing and Christina Rogers


Outstanding Senior Award: Diana Cagliero

Outstanding Junior Award: Aditi Majoe and Klamath Henry

Trevor E. Stokol Award: Rebecca Lebeaux

Marjorie Shostak Prize, Undergraduate: Amelia Howell

Marjorie Shostak Prize, Graduate: Bisan Salhi and Sydney Silverstein

George Armelgos Award: Ioulia Fenton and Bisan Salhi