Top of page
Skip to main content
Main content

Graduation 2023

Please join the Department of Anthropology in congratulating our Class of 2023!  We are so proud of you and wish you the best as you go on to bigger and brighter things!

Class of 2023

Hunter Akridge                 Ishika Gupta                     Liv Metzger                        Molly Thomason
Lauren Baydaline             Blythe Gurche                   Elena Mishkovsky             Brooke Tylka
Pamela Beniwal                Blaise Hartsoe                  Atlas Moss                          Jamie Villalobos
Eve Berrie                          Riesa Hoque                      Nykia Murry                       Lizzy Wagman
Isa Bloch                            Taylor Jones                       Cierra Norman                  Amy Wang
Beyoncé Brice                   Emmanuela Jules              Zachary Ofenloch             Emily Wang
Rachel Broun                    Kedhejah Kelley                 Aariay Pandya                   Nick Weinrich
Iliyah Bruffett                    Ruth Korder                       Adina Peck                         Samuel Weinstein
Anna Bussler                     Trevena Lampley              Siri Peddineni                    Olivia Willingham
Julia Colizzo                       Andres Lebed Wright       Rachel Prizer                      Gracie Wilson
Ellie Cottrill                        Christopher Lee                Vaishnavi Reddy                 Yena Woo
Jennifer Dam                     Shirel Levy                          Alex Reid                             Anna Yang
Tommy Davis                    Tiara Lewis-Falloon           Holly Robinson                   Joanna Yu
Ryan Dieudonne               Daisy Li                               Abbie Roman                      Christopher Zeuthen
Madina Eshova                 Grace Li                               Daniel Sanz                         Daren Zhang
Nicole Felix-Tovar             Kevin Li                                Katerina Savvides
Lucy Ferry                          Alexa Lisenby                     Tanvi Shah
Hannah Finke                    Caroline Maki                    Annie Shen
Becca Frischling                Abhi Manda                       Krithika Shrinivas
Bridgette Garnache         Danielle Mangabat           Amisha Singh
Rose Gertzman                 Sam Marrack                     Adia Slaughter
Alaina Gibson                    Sahana Mathiarasan        Katie Steimel
Naomi Gonzalez               Odudu Mbaba                   Frederick Tackey
Eleanor Gray                     Natalie McGrath                Sierra Talavera-Brown  

Miriam Kilimo
Scott Schnurr
AG Tribble
Luisa Rivera
Caroline Owens

Honors and Awards Recipients

Learn more about our Anthropology Student Awards and Honors Students!  For award descriptions and past winners, check out our Departmental Awards webpage.

Learn more about our Anthropology Student Awards on the blog (including photos)!  For award descriptions and past winners, check out our Departmental Awards webpage.

Outstanding Senior Award: Hunter Akridge and Rachel Broun

Outstanding Junior Award: Elizabeth Whiteside

Trevor E. Stokol Scholarship (2023-24):

  • 1st Place: Eric Li
  • Maddie Hasson
  • Raya Islam

Marjorie Shostak Award, Undergraduate:

  • Pamela Beniwal for her Honors thesis, "The Effect of Commercialization, Militarization, and Stigmitation of the Breast Cancer Awareness Movement on Breast Cancer Patients," advised by Professor Mel Konner
  • Audrey Lu for her ANT 372W class project "The Lives of Charting: An Emergency Room Scribe's Perspective", advised by Professor Anna Grimshaw
  • Alvaro Perez Daisson for his Honors thesis "Race-related Health Disparities in Cuba in the Context of COVID-19", advised by Professor Mel Konner and Kristin Phillips
  • Christopher Zeuthen for his Honors thesis, "Veteran Perspectives on Moral Injury", advised by Professor Mel Konner

George Armelagos Award: AJ Jones and Caroline Owens

Delores P. Aldridge (Graduate): Adrian Cato

Read more about this year’s honors students and their projects on our 2023 Honors Students page.


(left to right: Bobby Paul, Tanvi Shah, Amy Wang, Natalie McGrath, Lucia Buscemi, Danielle Mangabat, Pamela Beniwal, Christopher Zeuthen, Rachel Broun, Lizzy Wagman, Gracie Wilson, Sam Weinstein, Hunter Akridge, Alvaro Perez Daisson.)

Hunter Akridge
Thesis Title: Contesting the Cultural Politics of Care: How Equitable Digital Care Platforms Reimagine the Future of Work

Rachel Broun
Thesis Title: Enacting Solidarity and Negotiating Fictive Kinship: The Legal Consciousness of Black Women Working in the Criminal Legal System

Pamela Chopra Beniwal
Thesis Title: The Effect of Commercialization, Militarization, and Stigmatization of the Breast Cancer Awareness Movement on Breast Cancer Patients

Lucia Buscemi
Thesis Title: 
Footprints of the Roof of the World: Navigating the Impacts of Anthropogenic Activities in the Everest Region

Naomi Gonzalez-Garcia
Thesis Title: Constellations of Un-Matter(ing) & Matter(ing) through Atlanta’s Black Spaces: Anthropological Perspectives on Housing and Relationality

Ruth Korder
Thesis Title: Detecting Human Adaptations in Populations of the Andean Highlands

Danielle Mangabat
Thesis Title: Confronting Colonial Legacies: Imagining a Decolonial Future in the Philippines through Reproductive Health

Natalie McGrath
Thesis Title: Recentering the Voices of Pregnant-People and Birth Workers; Narratives of Childbirth

Atlas Moss
Thesis Title: Vocal Recognition and Social Knowledge in captive Tufted Capuchin Monkeys (Sapajus apella)

Alvaro Perez-Daisson
Thesis Title: Race-related Health Disparities in the Context of COVID-19

Tanvi Shah
Thesis Title: (Re)constructing Postpartum Depression (PPD) via Cross-Specialty Analysis and an Anthropological Lens of Subjectivity 

Krithika Shrinivas
Thesis Title: Stone Tools and Sociality: Potential Effects of Conversation and Hobbies on Lithic Quality

Lizzy Wagman
Thesis Title: Genome-wide patterns of selection in pre- and post-European contact Caribbean populations

Amy Wang
Thesis Title: The Impacts of Social Media on Young Adults’ Body Images in the United States

Sam Weinstein
Thesis Title: Vocal Clues to Diabetes Mellitus: Exploring the Ethics and Tech of AI in Clinical Practice

Gracie Wilson
Thesis Title:
 The Culture of College Mental Health: Narratives of Stress, Value, and Belonging 

Christopher Zeuthen
Thesis Title:
 Qualitative Examination of Veteran Perspectives on Moral Injury

Lambda Alpha is the national honors society for anthropology.  Members must have completed at least 20 credits of Anthropology coursework and meet GPA requirements.

2023 Emory chapter nominee for Lambda Alpha National Scholarship: Gracie Wilson

Hunter Reed Akridge
Lauren Michele Baydaline
Pamela Chopra Beniwal
Eve Belle Berrie
Rachel C. Broun
Thomas Q. Davis
Ryan J. Dieudonne
Nicole C. Felix-Tovar
Lucia Rowe Ferry
Alaina LaShea Gibson
Naomi Celeste Gonzalez
Emmanuela Jules
Grace Xinyi Li
Alexa Leigh Lisenby
Abhiram Reddy Manda
Danielle Leigh Mangabat
Nykia Tiara Murry
Siri Chandana Peddineni
Vaishnavi Reddy
Alex Scott Reid
Krithika Shrinivas
Adia Elizabeth Slaughter
Molly Xia Pan Thomason
Elizabeth Kate Wagman
Andrew Mintse Wang
Samuel Ellis Weinstein
Olivia West Willingham
Gracie Marie Wilson
Christopher A. Zeuthen